Should I swap fins?

swhale's picture
swhale started the topic in Saturday, 17 Sep 2022 at 7:17am

Hi everyone, I’m a beginner/intermediate. I’m riding a 9’ soft-top board since a few months, but I’m having a hard time going down the line on bigger waves. Waves here are really fast and steep, quite small, very short and definitely chaotic (and often choppy). Always closeouts. Almost unsurfable conditions tbh, especially for a foam longboard, but still.

When waves are small (2ft or so) it’s easier for me to consistently go down the line with my other board, on which I learned for the past couple years, which is not even a surfboard. It’s a really old Windglider windsurfing board, from the 70s, huge, long, thick and very very heavy. My uncle removed the fin decades ago, so I replaced it with a plastic fin (those ones for kayaks, finbox + removable fin) which I glued with marine epoxy resin. Most times I paddle with a kayak paddle (sitting or kneeling) and when the rail engages the face of the wave that thing zips down the line fast and stable. I usually grab the outside rail to trim even more. I noticed that, although the board is thick, the rails are quite sharp. While going down the line I can then stand, walk to the nose, or lay down, sit, sometimes I even spinned on my butt 180 degrees and continued reverse. It’s fun, although you can completely forget about cutbacks and I never rode waves more than 2ft high, it's too dangerous (but I rode big unbroken swells).

That board got me more and more into surfing over the last years, until a couple of months ago I bought my first foamie: 9’ long, 95 liters, mostly because I wanted to be able to catch as many waves as possible. And that worked, I spent a lot of time in 1/2 ft waves studying the timing, the paddling, the positioning on the lineup, angling the takeoff and going down the line. I thought I got it, then bigger waves came and my sessions became really frustrating (although I also had some really good waves).